What bodies of water border france

What body of water is northwest of France?

Roughly hexagonal in outline, its continental territory is bordered on the northeast by Belgium and Luxembourg, on the east by Germany, Switzerland, and Italy, on the south by the Mediterranean Sea, Spain, and Andorra, on the west by the Bay of Biscay , and on the northwest by the English Channel (La Manche).

How many oceans are there in France?

three oceans

How many countries border with France?

11 countries

Who is France’s longest border with?

The current border and the road connecting Cayenne to Macapá. It is the longest border France shares with another country, the one with Belgium being next at 657 kilometres (408 mi).

What are France’s physical features?

The geography of France consists of a terrain that is mostly flat plains or gently rolling hills in the north and west and mountainous in the south (including the Pyrenees) and the east (the highest points being in the Alps ).

Does France have any deserts?

The Great Dune of Pyla, located 60km from Bordeaux in the Arcachon Bay area, France , happens to be the tallest sand dune in Europe. Because of the dune’s unexpected location and beauty, it is a famous tourist destination with more than one million visitors per year.

What is a major body of water in France?

The North Atlantic Ocean lies to the west of France, and the Mediterranean Sea to the south. In addition, a small portion of its northern coast borders the North Sea .

What ocean is by France?

North Atlantic Ocean

You might be interested:  How do people celebrate christmas in france

What are the major landforms and bodies of water in France?

Most of the major landforms in France offer lodging nearby, making it easy to stay in the area overnight. The Alps. The French Alps stretch along the southeast side of the country, following the border with neighboring Italy. Gorges du Verdon Canyon. Massif Central. Loire River.

What is France’s nickname?

This is why the word “Frank” also meant “free man”. Another way to call the country of France, “The Republic”. This comes from after the creation of the first republic of France in 1792 after the French Revolution in 1789. This nickname refers to to the shape of France of a hexagon.

What are the 6 countries that border France?

A: Andorra, Belgium , Germany , Italy , Luxembourg , Monaco (a principality), Spain , Switzerland .

Which country has no borders?

Largest Countries with No Borders

km2 Country
270,467 New Zealand
109,884 Cuba
103,000 Iceland
65,610 Sri Lanka

Does Germany share border with Italy?

Austria, Switzerland, France and Slovenia share land borders with Italy , as they do with other countries, but San Marino is an enclave within Italian territory, so shares land borders with no other country.

Does France border the Netherlands?

The Netherlands is a country in western Europe bordered by the North Sea in north and west, it is bordered by Germany in east and Belgium in south. The country also shares maritime borders with France and the United Kingdom.

How many borders does France have?

France has land borders with eleven countries. On its eastern border its neighbours include Belgium (652-659 kms), Luxembourg (73 kms), Germany (448 kms), Switzerland (573 kms), Italy (515 kms) and the principality of Monaco (4kms).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *