What countries does france border

How many countries border mainland France?

11 countries

What are 3 countries that border France?

France borders Belgium and Luxembourg in the northeast, Germany , Switzerland , and Italy in the east, the Mediterranean Sea, Monaco, Spain, and Andorra in the south. France also shares maritime borders with the United Kingdom.

What country borders France the most?


What are the 8 Neighbouring countries of France?

It also acts as an economic, geographic, and linguistic bridge joining eight countries in northern and southern Europe. France shares land boundaries with eight countries, which encompass Italy , Germany , Belgium , Spain , Monaco , Andorra , Switzerland , and Luxembourg .

What is France’s nickname?

This is why the word “Frank” also meant “free man”. Another way to call the country of France, “The Republic”. This comes from after the creation of the first republic of France in 1792 after the French Revolution in 1789. This nickname refers to to the shape of France of a hexagon.

Is France in Italy?

The border between the two countries does not match the linguistic border. Corsica, while traditionally Italian -speaking, is part of France , whereas the Valle d’Aosta, while traditionally French -speaking, is part of Italy .

Are France and Germany allies?

The Franco- German alliance is the single most important relationship in Europe. Disputes between France and Germany led to several European wars between 1870 and 1945, while their reconciliation after World War II led to the creation of the European Union.

Does Germany share border with Italy?

Austria, Switzerland, France and Slovenia share land borders with Italy , as they do with other countries, but San Marino is an enclave within Italian territory, so shares land borders with no other country.

You might be interested:  France facts for children

Does France border England?

The UK has only one land border , and that is on the island of Ireland. Since 1994 the Channel Tunnel beneath the English Channel links the UK with France . The United Kingdom shares maritime borders with Belgium, Denmark, France , Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, and the Faroe Islands (Denmark).

What country borders France and Spain?

Spain Information: Spain is located in southwestern Europe. Spain is bordered by the Bay of Biscay, the Balearic Sea, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Alboran Sea; Portugal to the west and France and Andorra to the north.

Which European country borders most countries?


How many countries are in France?

The country’s 18 integral regions (five of which are situated overseas) span a combined area of 643,801 km2 (248,573 sq mi) and a total population of 67.07 million (as of June 2020). France .

French Republic République française ( French )
• Metropolitan France (IGN) 551,695 km2 (213,011 sq mi)​ (50th)

What are the six countries that border France?

A: Andorra, Belgium , Germany , Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco (a principality), Spain, Switzerland .

Does France border Portugal?

The country also borders the Mediterranean Sea, the Bay of Biscay and the Atlantic Ocean. Portugal borders the country in the west, Gibraltar in the south, France and Andorra in the northeast while Morocco is bordered by Spain’s autonomous cities of Melilla and Ceuta.

Does Austria border France?

North of the Alps, clouds cover France , Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Austria , and Slovenia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *