How many departments in france

What are the different departments in France?

french departments ! Ain – Bourg-en-Bresse. Aisne – Laon. Allier – Moulins. Alpes-de-Haute-Provence – Digne. Hautes-Alpes – Gap. Alpes Maritimes – Nice. Ardèche – Privas. Ardennes – Charleville-Mézières.

What are the 13 regions in France?

The 13 regions of metropolitan France (since 2016). Auvergne – Rhône-Alpes. Bretagne (Brittany) Bourgogne – Franche-Comté Corse (Corsica) Centre – Val de Loire . Grand Est (Alsace, Champagne, Lorraine) Hauts de France ( Nord Pas-de-Calais – Picardie) Ile de France (Paris)

When was France divided into departments?

March 4th, 1790

Which department is Paris?

Departments of France

Department Region (since 2016)
75 Paris Île-de-France
62 Pas de Calais Hauts-de- France
63 Puy de Dôme Auvergne Rhône-Alpes
64 Pyrénées Atlantiques Nouvelle-Aquitaine

How is France divided up?

France is divided into 18 administrative regions ( French : régions, singular région [ʁeʒjɔ̃]), of which 13 are located in metropolitan France (i.e. on the European continent), while the other five are overseas regions (not to be confused with the overseas collectivities, which have a semi-autonomous status).

What does Department mean in France?


How many regions and departments are there in France?

Overall, continental France is divided into 94 administrative departments , numbered 1 to 95, excepting 20. There is no department 20. The former department 20 is now departments 2a and 2b, which are the island of Corsica.

What are the main regions of France?

Northern France: Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, Picardy. Eastern France: Alsace , Champagne, Franche-Comté, Lorraine, Rhône-Alpes. Western France: Aquitaine , Brittany, Pays de la Loire , Poitou-Charentes. Central France: Auvergne , Burgundy , Ile-de-France, Limousin, Loire Valley (Centre)

You might be interested:  Sending parcels to france

What are the new regions of France?

The New Regions of France Brittany (no change) Burgundy-Franche-Comté (Burgundy and France-Comté) Centre-Val de Loire (no change) Corsica (no change) Grand Est (Alsace, Champagne-Ardennes, and Lorraine) Hautes-de-France ( Nord, Pas-de-Calais , and Picardie) Ile-de-France (no change) Normandy (Upper and Lower Normandy)

What is the prefect in France?

Prefect , French préfet, in France , a high government official, similar to the intendant before the French Revolution. The French prefectoral corps was created in 1800 by Napoleon Bonaparte, who endowed it with great prestige and influence.

What European country is divided into departments?

division of France

What region is France located in?


Which number is associated with Paris?

The steady stream of tourists passing through the Louvre, Notre Dame and Eiffel Tower is a constant part of the Parisian pulse. Repeatedly, France ranks #1 as the most visited country in the world, and Paris claims to receive more tourists than any other city on the planet. In 2014, that number surpassed 32 million .

How is France Organised for administrative purposes?

The administrative divisions of France are concerned with the institutional and territorial organization of French territory. All the inhabited territories are represented in the National Assembly, Senate and Economic and Social Council and their citizens have French citizenship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *